Roles and Permissions

Overview

Within Excelway, roles and permissions determine what information users can view and edit. It allows you to maintain the appropriate balance between collaboration and control.

Roles and permissions occur at the object level, not the user level. That means that roles and permissions are used to determine if a user should be allowed to act on a particular object: a project, a board, a workshop, as well as the Documents and the About sections. That way, a single user could have multiple levels of access depending on the object and the permissions set by the admin of that object.

For example, a user could have an Admin role on a project but with a Viewer role on one of the project’s boards. Or a user could have a Viewer role on a project but an Editor role in one of its sub-projects.

Screenshot showing roles and positions when updating project members in Excelway

Excelway tip: Only roles determine the level of access to an object, ie. a project, a board or a workshop. Positions on objects are for reporting purposes only and have no consequence on a user’s level of access. For example, a user could have an Owner position within a project but still have a Viewer role. In that case, this user will not be able to edit the information on the project as is set to Viewer.

Project roles

Only users that are members or owners of a Project can access it. There are three types roles on a Project: Admin, Editor and Viewer.

Admin’s permissions in a Project

The user that has an Admin role on a Project has the highest level of permission on this object.

A user that has an Admin role on a Project can:

– add a sub-project depending on the subscription plan of the account

– archive the project

– update the project’s name, description, image and dates

– add and remove members to the project

– edit project’s members’ role within the project

– create a Board

– create a Workshop

– add, edit and delete paragraphs in the About section

– add, edit and delete documents in the Project

Editor’s permissions in a Project

The user that has an Editor role on a Project can:

– update project’s name, description, image and dates

– create a Workshop

– invite participants to a workshop

– create a Board

– add, edit and delet documents in the Project

Viewer’s permissions in a Project

The user that has a Viewer role on a Project can: 

– See the Project’s information and members

– See the Project’s boards

– See the Project’s workshops

– See the Project’s documents and about section

Board roles

In addition to the Project’s roles, users can have roles within a Board. Project and Board’s roles are independent in the sense that a user that can have an admin role on a Project can have a viewer role on a board for example.

Admin’s permissions in a Board

The user that has an Admin role on a Board has the highest level of permission on this object.

The Admin user can:

– delete the Board

– Edit the Board’s settings and members

– Edit the content of the Board (cards)

Editor’s permissions in a Board

The user that has an Editor role on a Board can:

– Edit Board’s settings and members

– Edit the content of the Board (cards)

Viewer’s permissions in a Board

The user that has a Viewer role on a Board can:

– Access and read the content of the Board (cards)

Workshop roles

Inside the Workshop, there are two roles: Participant and Facilitator. Learn more about roles inside a workshop here.

However, the access to the Workshop is set by the member’s role in the Project.

When creating a workshop, all existing Project members have access to this workshop by default, whether it is a public of private Workshop.

To restrict access of project members to the Workshop:

– Click on the actions button of the Workshop in the list of workshops

– Click on Invite

screenshot showing how to update the list of participants to a worshop

– in the invite members window, restrict access of project members to the workshop by clicking Remove

screenshot showing how to remove a project member from a workshop

The project member will be able to see the Workshop in the list, but not access it. 

Excelway tip: Project members will not receive an invitation email to a private workshop created in the Project. 

Updating roles in bulk in a Project

When adding a new member to a Project or updating an existing member’s role, it can be useful to apply these changes in all the Boards, Workshops and Sub-Projects of this Project. 

For example, if I want to add a new admin to the Project and I want the member to have an admin role in the Boards, Sub-Projects, as well as access to the past Workshops. 

In this case, instead of updating each Board, Workshop and Sub-Project individually, one can apply the update in bulk feature when adding the new member. 

This feature is activated when the box Apply these changes to all Workshops, Boards and Sub-Project is checked in the Manage Members window of the Project.

screenshot showing the update in bulk feature in the Manage Members window
Previous About
Skip ahead to: